Staff Escalation List
Super Users and Super Counselors can configure alert notifications for their staff.
Notifications by Phase
Users can designate which alert phases they would like staff to be notified about. After selecting what alerts you would like generated under Alert Preferences, you may then choose to send alert notifications to staff for particular phases. Phases will affect both email notifications and text notifications (if configured). By default, notifications for the Active Planning phase will always be on, and cannot be toggled off.
Note: This feature is unavailable on Beacon Starter, as Beacon Starter only generates Active Planning alerts.
- Log into beacon.goguardian.com
- Click Settings from the navigation menu
- Navigate to Staff Notifications
- Toggle on/off the phases that your staff should be notified about
Configuring your Escalation List
When a new alert is generated by Beacon, the user in position 01 on the Escalation List will be notified by email and/or SMS message (if configured). If the user does not respond to an alert within the configured Interval Time, the next user on the list will be notified. This process will repeat itself five times unless an action on the alert is taken, a risk level is assigned, or the phase category is verified.
Add A User to the Escalation List
Once given access to Beacon, a user with any permission level may be added to the Escalation List. Users can be added individually by typing in a Name or Email, selecting the user, then clicking add 1 user. Or add all current Beacon users to the list by clicking Add All Users.
Note: For Beacon Starter, only position 01 may be filled with either one individual user or All Users. Adding All Users signifies that all users within the deployment will be notified at the same time.
Remove a User from the Escalation List
To remove a user from the escalation list, simply click Remove to the right of their name. This will not remove their access to this deployment, just from the Escalation List. This will also not remove a user from the User Management list in Org Management.
Note: At least one user must be on the escalation list at all times. The final user cannot be removed.
Interval Time sets the amount of time allotted for a user to respond to an alert. If a user does not respond to an alert within this timeframe, the next user on the list will be notified.
After School Notifications
By default, the Escalation List is only active during school hours set in Beacon Settings > School Hours. This setting only affects email and text message notifications sent out by the Escalation List. Beacon alerts will continue in-app at all hours.
If you would like your Escalation List to send out email notifications after school hours, simply enable After School Notifications.